Urwego Opportunity Bank


Urwego Opportunity Bank (Urwego) is a microfinance bank in Rwanda which is one of the commercial banks licensed by the National Bank of Rwanda, the national banking regulator. It was founded in 1997 as a purely Microfinance Institution (MFI) that was mostly popular among women at the time, Urwego Opportunity Bank is definitely Rwanda’s bank for all


Urwego Bank was established in July 2007 as a result of a merger between Urwego Community Banking SA (Urwego) and Opportunity International Bank of Rwanda SA (OIBR). Urwego was founded by World Relief Rwanda in 1997 and it was a leading microfinance institution (MFI) in Rwanda. Since 2004 Urwego had been operating as an independent and regulated MFI in the country with branches in Kigali and in the provinces. OIBR was established by Opportunity International, an international microfinance network dedicated to the development of transformational, commercial microfinance banks in developing countries.


The bank is a licensed microfinance bank which is operated along Christian principles with services aimed at improving the economic, social and spiritual conditions of the communities that the bank serves. The bank focuses on serving Rwandese who are economically active but under banked. Services offered by Urwego include deposit accounts, savings accounts, individual loans, Trust Group Loans, village phone loans, home improvement loans, bicycle loans and school tuition loans. The bank also offers insurance services, business training and HIV/AIDS training.


According to the bank’s website, the following corporate entities are shareholders in the bank.

Urwego Opportunity Bank Stock Ownership

Rank      Name of Owner                Percentage Ownership

  1. Hope International      99%
  2. World relief                      1%

                TOTAL   100%

Urwego Bank Branches

Following results of April 2016, Urwego has eighteen fully functioning branches of which seven of them including the bank’s headquarters are located in the city of Kigali, Rwanda’s capital. The other eleven full-service branches are located in the provinces. In addition to this, the bank has twenty-five other credit offices in various Rwandan districts. The full-service branches of the bank are located in the following locations:

Main Branch – KN 5 Remera (Umuyenzi Plaza Kisementi), Airport road, Kigali

Kimironko Branch – Kimironko, Kigali Kimironko KG 2 ST, Kigali

Nyarugenge Branch – Nyarugenge Plot 1230, Avenue de la Paix, Kigali

Kicukiro Branch – Kicukiro KK 494 ST, Kigali

Nyabugogo Branch – Kigali

Kigali City Market- Nyarugenge

Gisozi Branch – KG 697 Samantha house, Kigali

Muhanga Branch – Muhanga Plot 188, Muhanga District

Rwamagana Branch – Rwamagana District

Bugesera Branch – Bugesera District

Musanze District – Musanze District

Nyamata Branch- Bugesera plaza, airport Road, Bugesera District

HUYE Branch- Huye Market, Ground Floor,  Huye District

Musanze Branch- Musanze district

Gicumbi Branch- Gicumbi District

Ngoma branch- Ngoma District

Rubavu branch- Rubavu District

Rusizi branch – Rusizi District